top of page

In Conversation with Joel- Photographer from Birmingham

Updated: Mar 22, 2020



Soon to become the most famous person named Joel, Joel Foster Finn is without doubt a supremely talented and creative young photographer. At the slender age of 19 he has already had is work featured on some of the most high profile Instagram accounts as well as a feature within the BBC and work exhibited in local cafés.


His photography style described by himself as 'High contrast, geometric, minimal and precise.' is clinical beauty, with its main objective to highlight the isolation and loneliness that can occur in even the busiest of cities.


This week I was lucky enough to catch up with him and talk about what makes him tick, his unique editing style and why equipment isn't everything when it comes to photography.



About Joel


Tell me abit about yourself?


I’m 19 years old and have lived in Birmingham my entire life. I am a passionate photographer, filmmaker and writer. At the moment I am studying Spanish at the University of Warwick and spend almost all my free time either involved in the creative process or learning about it. I also love sport, particularly parkour, running, archery and rock climbing!


Do you consider yourself an amateur or professional photographer?


I would still consider myself amateur although I have done some professional work. Photography is a just a hobby for me currently and I’d like to keep it that way for the near future.


Do you shoot alone or with someone?


I almost always shoot alone, I have done a few shoots with some other photographers (such as in a recent video with Gareth Danks) and with my girlfriend, but to be honest, I find the quality of my work is much better when I photograph by myself.



Your City


Is there issues in your city that you try and highlight through your photography?



The main issue or theme that I try to highlight through my work is the isolation that can occur in the city. In a place so full of people with buildings towering all around us, I think it’s easy to feel dwarfed and minimised by it all, and it is this feeling I wish to draw attention to.


Whats the best or your favourite location to shoot in your city?


That’s a hard question haha! There are so many great locations, my personal favourite would have to be the roof garden of the Library of Birmingham - I love looking down on the city and isolating minimal compositions. But generally, wherever the best light is!


Who’s your favourite photographer from your area?



I would find it hard to choose just one, as I follow and know so many from the local area, but I am particularly fond of the work of ‘nj_wilkinson’ in particular.


Your Photography


Where did your interest in photography come from?


My Dad has always had a passion for photography, so growing up I was always aware of the process, but it wasn’t until I tried street photography I really became interested. I definitely hadn’t always been interested (I had always prefered video) but slowly, as I began to improve and honed my own style I really found I loved it.

How would you describe your photographic style?


High contrast, geometric, minimal, precise.


Is there a photographer that your work is inspired from?


Not really, I knew I just enjoyed black and white so just tried to generate my own style from the limitations that a lack of colour enforces.

You do a lot of black and white street photography, is there a reason behind this?


I love the timeless quality of black and white - images that look like they could have been taken 5 minutes or 50 years ago - but also how bleak it makes the city appear, which is perfect for showing isolation. I also love the precision and simplicity of it - there are no distractions or imperfections.

Tell us the story behind your favourite picture?


My favourite picture is one of a man waiting for a train in the snow. That day was the most snow I’ve ever experienced, almost 3 feet deep, and I knew I wanted to get some images - street or landscape. I went down to the station and I couldn't believe that anybody could possibly be expecting a train in that weather - but there was this one man with his suitcase, presumably on his way to work. I found it hilarious, but magical, it’s still one of the strangest moments I’ve come across through street photography.


In terms of street photography, do you ever get nervous about photographing people you don’t know, if so how do you overcome this?


I did used to get very nervous, however, these days I don’t really mind at all. Most people in my pictures are quite far away and silhouetted anyway so I don’t get too near, but when I do, I just get on with it and remember that it’s completely legal. I don’t really like to hide or try and be subtle, I think it actually comes across far more creepy, I prefer to just get in position and just let people walk past, that way they know I am there and it is their choice to walk past.

What one tip would you give to someone picking up a camera for the first time?


I would recommend that you go out with a deliberate intention. Choose the type of image you want to capture - a street portrait, minimal, silhouette etc - and then work within that brief, it helps me to stay on track and avoid just taking pictures of everything.

What is your greatest photography achievement?



Probably developing my own style and being able to create a consistent portofolio. I also recently had an image featured by the BBC which was really cool too.

Your Process


What equipment do you use and what do you use to edit?


I use very basic equipment - a Canon 600d with an 18-55mm kit lens, 50mm 1.8 for low light and a Sigma 70-300 for telephoto work. I would say 90% of my images are with the 18-55mm though, and many with my phone. I think there is far too much of a focus on gear in photography, and I don’t like it at all, just shoot with whatever you have. I edit every single shot on my phone, using Snapseed, and I process each image differently as I do a lot of dodging and burning to achieve the look I want.


The Future

What do you hope to accomplish with your photography?


I’d like to just keep on enjoying it as much as possible! I’d love to have my work exhibited in an art gallery too - that would be incredible.

How do you educate yourself to take better pictures?


I use YouTube all the time (probably too much!). It’s a great source for tutorials and inspiration, and especially as a beginner, it was super helpful for learning the basics. Also just viewing as many photographs in as many disciplines as possible: I think it’s like how you get better at writing the more you read, the more you take in, the more acquainted you become to the visual language.

How do you educate yourself to take better pictures?


Most of all, the enjoyment I get from it, that’s the most important thing, but also the interaction with people who like my shots and give me feedback.

Obviously, you do screenwriting and film making as well, where did this passion stem from and are you looking at these as future career opportunities?


Filmmaking has always been my biggest passion; I made my first short film when I was 10, and is what I hope to pursue as a career. I am currently working on my largest project yet, and will hopefully be screening my latest work at film festivals all over the country later this year. I think photography has helped me so much in developing my visual eye and ability to convey story through images, and this has transferred over into the cinematography of my films.


Instagram


What would you say is key in gaining Instagram followers?


I’m not too sure to be honest! I think the most important thing is to just stick to what you like doing - not trying to appeal to what is popular - in the end you will find people that like the same thing, but even if you don’t, you haven’t compromised your artistic vision.

What do you enjoy about instagram?


I love the amount of work I can see daily as inspiration - from all around the world.

What one thing would you improve about the social media platform?


I think they should encourage more feedback as opposed to just ‘likes’, I get that this is not the easiest to achieve because it’s not just for photographers, but it would be fantastic.


Thanks to Joel for talking with me. You can check out more of his work at https://www.instagram.com/joelfosterfinn/. All images and videos are, unless stated, the property of Joel.

0 comments
bottom of page