top of page

How to Shoot Like Me.

Updated: Mar 22, 2020


I think this is the most self-centred post I’ve ever done but I don’t care. I’ve had a lot of interest in how I shoot, when I shoot, what gear I use, so I thought I would clear everything up and give you tips on how to get the most out of your camera.


Firstly, lets clear one thing up. There's a myth that the better camera you have the better photos you take which is untrue. One of my favourite shots I’ve ever taken was on my phone. A beautiful silhouette of two of my friends walking across the golden San Francisco beach. Whilst gear does affect what type of photos you can take it doesn’t stop you from taking good photos. Obviously, an iPhone isn’t going to capture extreme close-ups of lions in the wild like a 600mm DSLR would but it can take excellent quality portraits provided the environment is well lit. The camera doesn’t change the quality of your photos but it can change the type of photos you take. It’s about understanding the best tools you need to execute the shots you want to take.



What camera and lens do you use?


Since the start of my street photography journey, I have used the same Sony A6000 mirrorless camera. Bought initially for a GCSE media project, it has turned out to be the ideal camera for the photos I like to take. With my 50mm kit lens attached, I can shoot nice wide black and white street images. Whilst since then I have bought coloured filters, glass balls, ND filters and a 200mm lens I find I get my best image when solely using my trusty 50mm lens.


If you are interested in purchasing the Sony Alpha A600 just click on the link provided.



Would you recommend the camera you use?


Whilst many photographers get excited for new cameras and new accessory releases, I don’t care. I am very content with the images I’m producing so I see no reason to change it. So whilst I would recommend this camera, I’ve known nothing else so its difficult to assess. However, again I would like to stress that it is a very good camera for what I do but be aware of the boundaries of the camera and assess if it’s the appropriate camera for the type of images you want to shoot.


When do you usually shoot your street photos?


Anytime there's a glimpse of the sun. Most of my images contain silhouettes which are pretty much impossible to capture on overcast days hence why my Instagram isn’t littered with images because let's face it, sunny days are hard to come by in the UK.


How do you choose what to shoot?


It's very much about the lighting for me, if there is a clear differentiation between light and darks I’m rushing over there and shooting. However, there are many other aspects to focus on to give you direction and purpose. You could focus on patterns, texture, tones, a particular colour, a particular architectural feature, it doesn’t have to revolve around lighting.


Do you shoot RAW?


I have experimented endlessly with shooting RAW due to the obvious benefits you get when it comes to editing. However, you can only shoot RAW in colour and whilst you do also get a black and white JPEG you can’t see this preview whilst your shooting. This is problematic as whilst you have the histogram to denote the difference between lights and darks, you can’t fully appreciate what the image will look like in black and white format.


Do you use presets?


I edit my images individually however I do use an in-camera high contrast black and white preset whenever I can to make the darks darker and the lights lighter helping me to identify the best light.


What do you use to edit?


Whilst a lot of people use Lightroom I feel I have everything necessary included in Photoshop. I tend to keep my editing to a minimum by simply adjusting the contrast and levels, using the spot healer tool to remove any inconsistencies and occasionally using the dodge and burn tool to adjust the light and dark areas of the image.


What's your message?


My photographic style is focused on silhouetted candid human subjects to focus on the idea of loneliness as well as the tranquillity available in the hustle and bustle of the second-largest city in England. Having a message can be very important. When I first started going out with my camera I wanted to shoot everything and very often I ended up with images that were plain and unappealing. Instead by focusing on a message or even a style I was much more discerning when it came to choosing a composition to shoot. This allowed me to create a portfolio of work that was consistent and of higher quality.


Do you get nervous about shooting people you don’t know?


I have spoken to a lot of street photographers about this issue and all have very similar views. Firstly, as long as you’re shooting in public areas you’re not breaking any laws and whilst it may seem unethical to snap someone without their permission, as long as you approach ‘conflict’ appropriately you should be fine. If someone asks you why your taking their photo be honest and explain that you're a street photographer and they provided a perfect subject for the composition of the photo. If they ask to see the photo show them and should they want you to delete it, whilst you in your rights not to, doing so will resolve the conflict and prevent it from ruining the rest of your day. For me, I tend not to get nervous as my style and approach is very distant to emphasise this feeling of isolation so very often people don’t even notice that their having their picture taken.


What led you to start shooting black and white and do you think you'll ever return to colour?


I've always found that the best photographers are those that shoot black and white as your not relying on colour to drive the appeal of the image. Additionally, I ascribe to the idea that beauty derives from simplicity and by limiting your colour palette you become more creative and more attuned to the intricacies of photography.


Black and white acts as a fundamental element in me conveying my message. I want to emphasise this feeling of isolation and bring discourse towards the issues of mental health, black and white helps elucidate this.


In terms of returning to colour its something that currently I'm not considering as I feel a black and white colour palette fits the projects that I want to complete.



 

Thank you for reading and should you have any more questions for me just follow and contact me on Instagram or Contact Me via my website. Happy shooting!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page